Should I Take the Day Off?

I’ve been really busy.

My work isn’t back-breaking, but very demanding intellectually, at times. Recently I’ve been educating staff at all levels in a family-owned business in the essentials of customer intimacy and preparing them to be more effective micro-marketers (we’re past sales training) while teaching their marketing officer how to create a strategic marketing plan.

They are as sharp as a pin and enjoying the learning experience; and the engagement excites me. But it is also a forcible reminder why universities limit the number of teaching hours for their lecturers.

Observing Torah I’m reminded, “six days shalt thou labour and do all thy work.” And today is day six and I’m feeling exhausted, but I’ve got work to do. Will someone please give me today off?

Herman Alvaranga educates Caribbean marketing and sales people.

Leave a Reply

